ESET Online Help

Search English
Select the topic

Supported Operating Systems

Below is a list of supported operating systems (OS) in general. For component-specific OS support, refer to installation requirements.

Server operating systems (server OS)

Windows Server 2008 *

Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1*

Windows Server 2012

Windows Server 2012 R2

Windows Small Business Server 2008

Windows Small Business Server 2011

Windows Server 2012 Essentials

Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials

Windows Server 2016

Windows Server 2016 Essentials

Windows Server 2019

Windows Server 2019 Essentials

Windows Server 2022

* Change the default TLS version to use

Client operating systems (client OS)

Windows 7

Windows 8

Windows 8.1

Windows 10 (including 22H2 Update)

Windows 11 (including 23H2 Update)


RADIUS Server on Windows Small Business Server

When you install a RADIUS Server on Windows Small Business Server 2008 or 2011, change the default NPS port from 1812 to 1645. Verify that no processes are listening on port 1812 before installing ESA by running the following command: C:\> netstat -a -p udp | more

Alternatively, when installing ESA RADIUS, change the RADIUS port in the Advanced configuration screen.


ESA Core and RADIUS on a client operating system (client OS)

Installing ESA Core (Authentication Server) and RADIUS Server on a client OS in the list of Supported Operating Systems might not be in alignment with Microsoft's licensing policy. Consult Microsoft's licensing policy or your software supplier for details. Moreover, a client OS may present other limitations (for instance, the number of maximum concurrent TCP connections) compared to an server OS.

Supported CPU platforms