ESET Online Help

Search English
Select the category
Select the topic

Advanced security

Advanced security includes a secure network communication between ESET PROTECT components:

Certificates and certification authorities use SHA-256 (instead of SHA-1).

The ESET PROTECT server uses TLS 1.2 for communication with agents.

Advanced security enforces the use of TLS 1.2 for Syslog and SMTP communication.

MDM users: The ESET PROTECT server uses TLS 1.2 for communication with the MDM server. Communication between the MDM server and mobile devices is not affected.

Advanced security works with all supported operating systems:


Linux - The minimum supported version of OpenSSL for Linux is openssl-1.0.1e-30. ESET recommends that you use the latest OpenSSL version (1.1.1). You can verify if your Linux client is compatible using the following command:
openssl s_client -connect -tls1_2



Advanced security is enabled by default in all new installations of ESET PROTECT 8.1 and later.

If you use ESMC or ESET PROTECT 8.0 with disabled Advanced security and you upgrade to ESET PROTECT 8.1 and later, advanced security remains disabled. ESET recommends that you enable it by following the steps below.

arrow_down_business Enable and apply advanced security on your network