Trusted zone setup

It is necessary to configure connected networks to protect your computer in a network environment. You can allow other users to access your computer by configuring Trusted zones to allow sharing. Click Setup > Network protection > Connected networks and click the link below the connected network. A window will display options allowing you to configure the chosen network as trusted.

By default, ESET Smart Security Premium uses Windows settings when a new zone is detected. To display a dialog window when a new zone is detected, change the protection type of new networks to ask user in Known networks. Trusted zone detection occurs whenever your computer connects to a new network. Therefore, there is usually no need to define Trusted zones.

DIALOG_EPFW_TRUSTED_ZONE

There are two network protection modes you can select from in the configure network protection window:

Yes – Home or office network. Your computer and shared files stored on your computer are visible to other network users, and system resources are accessible for other users on the network. We recommend using this setting when accessing a secure local network.

No – Public network. Files and folders on your system are not shared with or visible to other users on the network, and system resource sharing is deactivated. We recommend using this setting when accessing wireless networks.

warning

Warning

An incorrect Trusted zone configuration may pose a security risk to your computer.

note

Note

By default, workstations from a Trusted zone are granted access to shared files and printers, have incoming RPC communication enabled and have remote desktop sharing available.

For more details about this feature, read the following ESET Knowledgebase article:

Change network connection firewall setting in ESET Windows home products