Dynamic Group Templates

Dynamic group templates establish the criteria computers must meet to be placed in a Dynamic group. When these criteria are met by a client, a client will automatically be moved into the appropriate Dynamic Group.

details_hoverNOTE

A template is a static object stored in a Static group. Users must have appropriate permissions to access templates. A user needs access permissions to be able to work with Dynamic Group templates. All pre-defined templates are located in the static group All and are by default available only to the Administrator. Other users need to be assigned additional permissions. As a result, users may be unable to see or use default templates. The templates can be moved to a group where the users have permissions.

To duplicate a template, the user must be assigned write permissions (for Dynamic Group templates) for the group where the source template is located, and for the user's home group (where the duplicate will be stored). See suggestion for improvement inside the example.

Create New Dynamic Group Template

Rules for a Dynamic Group Template

Dynamic Group Template - examples

 

Manage Dynamic Group Templates

Templates can be managed from More > Dynamic Group Templates.

New Template

Click to create a New Template in your home group.

details_default Show Details

See the summary of information about selected template.

edit_default Edit / Edit Template

Edit selected template. Click Save as if you want to keep your existing template and create a new one based on the template you are editing. When prompted, specify the name for your new template.

duplicate_default Duplicate

Create a new Dynamic Group Templates based on the selected template. A new name will be required for the duplicate task. The duplicated template will be stored in your home group.

delete_default Delete

Remove the template permanently.

move_default Access Group

Move selected template to another static group. This is useful when solving access issues with other users.

Add filter and filter presets

To add filtering criteria, click Add filter and select item(s) from the list. Enter the search string(s) into the filter field(s). Active filters are highlighted in blue.

Filters can be saved to your user profile so that you can use them again in the future. Under Presets the following options are available:

Filter sets - your saved filters, click one to apply it. The applied filter is denoted with a apply_default check mark. Select Include visible columns, sorting and paging to save these parameters to the preset.

add_new_defaultSave filter set - Save your current filter configuration as a new preset. Once the preset is saved, you can not edit the filter configuration in the preset.

edit_defaultManage filter sets - Remove or rename existing presets. Click Save to apply the changes to presets.

Clear filter values - Click to remove only the current values from the selected filters. Saved presets will remain unchanged.

Remove filters - Click to remove the selected filters. Saved presets will remain unchanged.

Remove unused filters - Remove filter fields with no value.