Static Groups

Static Groups are used to:

Organize devices and create hierarchy of groups and subgroups

Organize objects

Serve as Home Groups for users

 

Static Groups can only be created manually. Devices can be moved manually into groups. Each computer or mobile device can belong only to one Static Group. The management of Static Groups is available via group actions.

There are two default Static Groups:

All - This is a main group for all devices in the ESMC Server network. All objects created by the administrator are (by default) contained in this group. It is always displayed and cannot be renamed. Access to this group gives users access to all subgroups; therefore it should be distributed carefully.

Lost & Found - A child group of group All. Each new computer that connects to the ESMC Server for the first time is automatically displayed in this group. The group can be renamed or copied, but it can't be deleted or moved.

validation-status-icon-warning IMPORTANT

A static group can be deleted only if:

The user has write permission for this group

The group is empty

If there are still some objects in the static group, the delete operation will fail. There is an Access Group filter button located in each menu (for example, Installers) with objects.

access_group Click Select to choose a static group—only objects contained in this group will then be listed in the view. With this filtered view, the user can easily manipulate objects from one group.

Add filter and filter presets

To add filtering criteria, click Add filter and select item(s) from the list. Enter the search string(s) into the filter field(s). Active filters are highlighted in blue.

Filters can be saved to your user profile so that you can use them again in the future. Under Presets the following options are available:

Filter sets - Your saved filters, click one to apply it. The applied filter is denoted with a apply_default check mark. Select Include visible columns, sorting and paging to save these parameters to the preset.

add_new_defaultSave filter set - Save your current filter configuration as a new preset. Once the preset is saved, you cannot edit the filter configuration in the preset.

edit_defaultManage filter sets - Remove or rename existing presets. Click Save to apply the changes to presets.

Clear filter values - Click to remove only the current values from the selected filters. Saved presets will remain unchanged.

Remove filters - Click to remove the selected filters. Saved presets will remain unchanged.

Remove unused filters - Remove filter fields with no value.