Server Tasks

Server tasks can automate routine jobs. Each server task can have one trigger configured. If the task needs to be run with various events, there has to be separate server task for each trigger. ESMC includes six predefined Server Task types.

details_hoverNOTE

Server tasks cannot be assigned to any specific client or client group.

Server tasks and permissions

The task and trigger both need an executing user. This is the user who modifies the task (and trigger). This user must have sufficient permissions for the chosen action. During execution, the task always takes the executing user from the trigger. If the task is run using the Run task immediately after finish setting, the executing user is the user logged into the ESMC Web Console. A user has permissions (Read, Use, Write) for the selected server task instance if it has those permissions selected in its permission set (More > Permission Sets) and has these permissions set for that Static Group where the server task is located. See the list of permissions for more information on access rights.

light-bulbEXAMPLE

John, whose home group is John’s Group, wants to remove Server Task 1: Generate Report. The task was originally created by Larry, therefore the task is automatically contained in Larry's home group, Larry's Group. The following conditions must be met for John to remove the task:

John must be assigned a permission set with write permissions for Server Tasks & Triggers - Generate Reports.

The permission set must contain Larry’s Group under Static Groups.

Permissions needed for certain server task actions

To create a new server task, the user needs write permission for the selected task type and proper access rights for the referenced objects (computers, licenses, groups).

To modify a server task, the user needs write permission for the selected server task instance and proper access rights for the referenced objects (computers, licenses, groups).

To remove a server task, the user needs write permission for the selected server task instance.

To run a server task, the user needs use permission for the selected server task instance.

Create a new server task

1.Click More > Server Tasks > New.

2.Enter basic information about the task, such as a name, description (optional) and the task type. The task type defines the settings and the behavior of the task.

3.You can decide if you want to:

Run task immediately after finish  - Select this check box to have the task run automatically after you click Finish.

Configure trigger - Select the check box and expand the Trigger section to configure the trigger settings.

Set the trigger later (select no check box).

4.Configure the task settings in the Settings section.

5.Set the trigger in the Trigger section, if it is available.

6.Verify all the settings for this task in the Summary section and then click Finish.

Access Group Filter

The Access Group filter button allows users to select a static group and filter viewed objects according to the group where they are contained.

access_group

Add filter and filter presets

To add filtering criteria, click Add filter and select item(s) from the list. Enter the search string(s) into the filter field(s). Active filters are highlighted in blue.

Filters can be saved to your user profile so that you can use them again in the future. Under Presets the following options are available:

Filter sets - Your saved filters, click one to apply it. The applied filter is denoted with a apply_default check mark. Select Include visible columns, sorting and paging to save these parameters to the preset.

add_new_defaultSave filter set - Save your current filter configuration as a new preset. Once the preset is saved, you cannot edit the filter configuration in the preset.

edit_defaultManage filter sets - Remove or rename existing presets. Click Save to apply the changes to presets.

Clear filter values - Click to remove only the current values from the selected filters. Saved presets will remain unchanged.

Remove filters - Click to remove the selected filters. Saved presets will remain unchanged.

Remove unused filters - Remove filter fields with no value.

details_hoverNOTE

It is recommended for users who are regularly using Server tasks to create their own tasks rather than sharing them with other users. Each time the task is run it uses the permissions of the executing user. This can confuse some users.