Notifications

Notifications are essential for keeping track of the overall state of your network. When a new event occurs (based on your configuration), you will be notified using a defined method (either an SNMP Trap, email message or it is sent to syslog server), and you can respond accordingly.

To add filtering criteria, click Add filter and select item(s) from the list. Enter the search string(s) into the filter field(s). Active filters are highlighted in blue.

oNotification Name

oNotification Description

oUsername - user who was last to modify the notification.

To create a new notification, click New notification on the bottom of the page.

Select an existing notification and click Actions to:

oEdit: change the configuration and distribution of the notification.

oDelete: remove the notification.

oDuplicate: create a duplicate notification with the same parameters in your home group.

oEnable / Disable: set the Status of the notification. Disabled notification is not evaluated.

Notifications, users and permissions

Similar to Server Tasks, the use of Notifications is restricted by the permissions of the current user. Every time the notification is executed, there is an executing user whose permissions are taken into account. The executing user is always the one who edited the notification last. A user can see only notifications that are contained in a group for which he has Read permissions.

validation-status-icon-warning IMPORTANT

For a notification to work well, it is necessary that the executing user has sufficient permissions for all referenced objects (devices, groups, templates). Typically, Read and Use permissions are required. If the user does not have these permissions, or he loses them afterward, the notification will fail. Failed notifications are highlighted with orange and will trigger an email to notify the user.

Create notification - To create a notification the user must have Write permissions for notifications on his home group. A new notification is created in the user's home group.

Modify notification - To be able to modify a notification, the user must have Write permissions for notifications on a group where the notification is located.

Remove notification - To be able to delete a notification, the user must have Write permissions for notifications on a group where the notification is located.

Cloning and VDI

There are three prepared notifications to notify user about cloning-related events or user can create a custom new notification.

Access Group Filter

The Access Group filter button allows users to select a static group and filter viewed objects according to the group where they are contained.

access_group

Add filter and filter presets

To add filtering criteria, click Add filter and select item(s) from the list. Enter the search string(s) into the filter field(s). Active filters are highlighted in blue.

Filters can be saved to your user profile so that you can use them again in the future. Under Presets the following options are available:

Filter sets - your saved filters, click one to apply it. The applied filter is denoted with a apply_default check mark. Select Include visible columns, sorting and paging to save these parameters to the preset.

add_new_defaultSave filter set - Save your current filter configuration as a new preset. Once the preset is saved, you can not edit the filter configuration in the preset.

edit_defaultManage filter sets - Remove or rename existing presets. Click Save to apply the changes to presets.

Clear filter values - Click to remove only the current values from the selected filters. Saved presets will remain unchanged.

Remove filters - Click to remove the selected filters. Saved presets will remain unchanged.

Remove unused filters - Remove filter fields with no value.

light-bulbEXAMPLE

John, whose Home Group is John’s Group, wants to remove (or modify) Notification 1. The notification was originally created by Larry, therefore it is automatically contained in Larry's Home group, Larry's Group. The following conditions must be met for John to remove (or modify) Notification 1 :

John must be assigned a permissions set with Write permissions for notifications

The permissions set must contain Larry’s Group under Static Groups