Automatic exclusions

The developers of server applications and operating systems recommend excluding sets of critical working files and folders from antivirus scans for most of their products. Antivirus scans may have a negative influence on a server's performance, which may lead to conflicts and even prevent some applications from running on the server. Exclusions help minimize the risk of potential conflicts and increase the overall performance of the server when running antivirus software. See the complete list of files excluded from scanning for ESET server products.

ESET Security for Microsoft SharePoint identifies critical server applications and server operating system files, and automatically adds them to the list of Exclusions. You can see a list of detected server applications for which exclusions were created under Automatic exclusions to generate. All automatic exclusions are enabled by default. You can disable/enable each server application by clicking the switch with the following result:

If an application/operating system exclusion remains enabled, any of its critical files and folders will be added to the list of files excluded from scanning (Advanced setup > Computer > Basic > Exclusions > Edit). Every time the server is restarted, the system performs an automatic check of exclusions and restores any exclusions that may have been deleted from the list. This is the recommended setting if you want to make sure the recommended Automatic exclusions are always applied.

If the user disables an application/operating system exclusion, its critical files and folders remain on the list of files excluded from scanning (Advanced setup > Computer > Basic > Exclusions > Edit). However, they will not be automatically checked and renewed on the Exclusions list every time the server is restarted (see point 1 above). We recommend this setting for advanced users, who wish to remove or modify some of the standard exclusions. If you wish to remove the exclusions from the list without restarting the server, you will need to remove them manually from the list (Advanced setup > Computer > Basic > Exclusions > Edit).

Any user-defined exclusions entered manually (under Advanced setup > Computer > Basic > Exclusions > Edit) will not be affected by the settings described above.