Supported Operating Systems

Below is a list of supported operating systems (OS) in general. For component-specific OS support, refer to installation requirements.

Server operating systems (SOS)

Windows Server 2008

Windows Server 2008 R2

Windows Server 2012

Windows Server 2012 R2

Windows Small Business Server 2008

Windows Small Business Server 2011

Windows Server 2012 Essentials

Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials

Windows Server 2016

Windows Server 2016 Essentials

Windows Server 2019

Windows Server 2019 Essentials


Client operating systems (COS)

Windows 7

Windows 8

Windows 8.1

Windows 10 (including version 1809 / Redstone 5)


RADIUS Server on Windows Small Business Server

When you install a RADIUS Server on Windows Small Business Server 2008 or 2011, the default NPS port must be changed from 1812 to 1645. Verify that there are no processes listening on port 1812 before installing ESA by running the following command: C:\> netstat -a -p udp | more



Installing ESA Core (Authentication Server) and RADIUS Server on a COS in the list of Supported Operating Systems might not be in alignment with Microsoft's licensing policy. Consult Microsoft's licensing policy or your software supplier for details. Moreover, a COS may present other limitations (for instance number of maximum concurrent TCP connections) compared to a SOS.