The Anti-Theft feature protects a mobile device from unauthorized access. If a mobile device (enrolled and managed by ERA) is lost or gets stolen, there are some actions that take place automatically and some actions can be performed using a client task. If an unauthorized person replaces a trusted SIM card with an untrusted SIM, the device will automatically be locked by ESET Endpoint Security for Android and an alert SMS will be sent to the user-defined phone number(s). This message will include the phone number of the SIM card currently in use, the IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) number and the phone's IMEI (International Mobile Equipment Identity) number. The unauthorized user will not be aware that this message has been sent because it will automatically be deleted from the device's messaging threads. You can also request the GPS coordinates of the lost mobile device or remotely erase all data stored on the device using a client task.
IMPORTANT: It is not possible to add Targets while creating a Client Task. You will be able to add Targets after the task has been created. Configure Settings for the task and click Finish to create the task and then create a Trigger to specify Targets for the task.
|•||Find - The device will reply with a text message containing its GPS coordinates. If a more precise location is available after 10 minutes, the device will re-send the message. Received information is displayed in the Computer details.|
|•||Lock - The device will be locked. The device can be unlocked using the Administrator password or the unlock command.|
|•||Unlock - The device will be unlocked so it can be used again. The SIM card currently in the device will be saved as a Trusted SIM.|
|•||Siren - The device will be locked and it will play a very loud sound for 5 minutes (or until unlocked).|
|•||Wipe - All accessible data on the device will be erased (files will be overwritten). ESET Endpoint Security will remain on the device. This can take up to several hours.|
|•||Enhanced Factory Reset - All accessible data on the device will be erased (file headers will be destroyed) and the device will be reset to its default factory settings. This can take several minutes.|
Review the summary of configured settings and click Finish. The Client Task is now created and a pop-up window will open. We recommend you to click Create Trigger to specify when this Client Task should be executed and on what Targets. If you click Close, you can create a Trigger later on.