Web control

The Web Control feature allows you to configure settings that protect your company from risk of legal liability. Web Control can regulate access to web sites that violate intellectual property rights. The goal is to prevent employees from accessing pages with inappropriate or harmful content, or pages that may have a negative impact on productivity. Employers or system administrators can prohibit access to more than 27 predefined web site categories and over 140 subcategories.

By default, Web Control is disabled. To activate it, click Setup > Enter application preferences > Web control and select the check box next to Enable Web control.

The rule editor window displays existing URL-based or category-based rules. The list of rules contains several descriptions of rules such as the name, type of blocking, action to perform after matching a Web control rule, and log severity.

To create a new rule, click the plus button. Double-click the Name field and type a description of the rule for better identification.

The check box in the Enabled field enables or disables the rule. This can be useful if you want to use the rule later but do not want to delete it permanently.

Following are settings you can specify:


URL-based Action – Access to the given web site. Double-click the URL/Category field and type the appropriate URL address. In the URL address list, you cannot use the special symbols * (asterisk) and ? (question mark). You must enter web page addresses with multiple  top-level domains (TLDs) in the created group (for example, examplepage.com and examplepage.sk). When you add a domain to the list, all content located in this domain and all subdomains (for example, sub.examplepage.com) are blocked or allowed based on your choice of URL-based action.

Category-based Action – Double-click the URL/Category field and select the categories.

Identity. Enables  you to select users the rule applies to.

Access rights

Allow – Grants access to the URL address or category.

Block – Blocks the URL address or category.

Severity (for filtering log files)

Always – Logs all events.

Diagnostic – Logs information needed to fine-tune the program.

Information – Records informative messages, plus all the records above.

Warning – Records critical errors and warning messages.

None – No logs are created.