Factory reset

You can use Factory reset to restore your ESMC Virtual Appliance to its original state as when freshly deployed. All of the configuration and settings will be reset and the whole ESMC database will be dropped.

warning

Warning

We highly recommend that you back up your ESMC database before executing a Factory reset. Your database will be empty after performing a reset.

Factory reset will only restore settings that were changed during ESMC VA configuration, other changes and settings will remain. In rare cases, Factory reset will not completely restore your VA's original state. If you are experiencing issues with ESMC VA, we recommend that you deploy a new machine. Follow the steps to perform upgrade/migration or perform a disaster recovery procedure.

1.Enter management mode by typing your password and pressing Enter twice. Select Factory reset using the arrow keys and press Enter.

factory_reset

2.Press Enter to execute Factory reset of your ESMC VA or, in case you changed your mind, you can exit to menu by pressing Ctrl+C at this point.

warning

Warning

Once the Factory reset is running, do not press Ctrl+C, as it may do damage to your virtual appliance.

factory_reset_02

note

Note

If you see any error messages on screen during the Factory reset, try running the reset again. In case re-running the Factory reset does not help or if you are not sure, we recommend that you do a fresh deployment, you can follow the same steps as described in upgrade/migration or perform a disaster recovery procedure.

Factory reset performs the following actions:

resets network configuration, all passwords and a hostname

clears Webmin, appliance configuration files, packages and system logs

removes all data from ESMC database

resets ESMC database user password

After your ESMC VA reboots, it will be in its original state as if freshly deployed and ready for you to begin configuring it from scratch.

note

Note

Custom modifications or settings not related to ESMC will remain unchanged.