Policies are used to push specific configurations to ESET products running on client computers. This allows you to avoid configuring each client's ESET product manually. A policy can be applied directly to individual Computers as well as groups (Static and Dynamic). You can also assign multiple policies to a computer or a group, unlike in ESET Remote Administrator 5 and earlier where it was only possible to apply one policy to one product or component.
Policies are applied in the order that Static Groups are arranged. This is not true for Dynamic Groups, where child Dynamic Groups are traversed first. This allows you to apply policies with greater impact at the top of the Group tree and apply more specific policies for subgroups. With properly configured policies with flags, an ERA user with access to groups located higher in the tree can override the policies of lower Groups. The algorithm is explained details in How Policies are applied to clients.
A policy applied to a client is usually a result of multiple policies being merged into one final policy.
NOTE: We recommend that you assign more generic policies (for example, general settings such as update server) to groups that are higher within the groups tree. More specific policies (for example device control settings) should be assigned deeper in the groups tree. The lower policy usually overrides the settings of the upper policies when merging (unless defined otherwise with policy flags).
NOTE: When you have a policy in place and decide to remove it later on, the configuration of the client computers will not automatically revert back to their original settings once the policy is removed. The configuration will remain according to the last policy that was applied to the clients. The same thing happens when a computer becomes a member of a Dynamic Group to which a certain policy is applied that changes the computer's settings. These settings remain even if the computer leaves the Dynamic group. Therefore, we recommend that you create a policy with default settings and assign it to the root group (All) to have the settings revert to defaults in such a situation. This way, when a computer leaves a Dynamic group that changed its settings, this computer receives the default settings.