ESET Internet Security is capable of checking for threats in communications that use the SSL protocol. You can use various scanning modes to examine SSL protected communications with trusted certificates, unknown certificates, or certificates that are excluded from SSL-protected communication checking.

Enable SSL/TLS protocol filtering – If protocol filtering is disabled, the program will not scan communications over SSL.

SSL/TLS protocol filtering mode is available in following options:

Filtering mode


Automatic mode

Default mode will only scan appropriate applications such as web browsers and email clients. You can override it by selecting applications for which their communications will be scanned.

Interactive mode

If you enter a new SSL protected site (with an unknown certificate), an action selection dialog is displayed. This mode allows you to create a list of SSL certificates / applications that will be excluded from scanning.

Policy mode

Select this option to scan all SSL protected communications except communications protected by certificates excluded from checking. If a new communication using an unknown, signed certificate is established, you will not be notified and the communication will automatically be filtered. When you access a server with an untrusted certificate that is marked as trusted (it is on the trusted certificates list), communication to the server is allowed and the content of the communication channel is filtered.

List of known certificates – Allows you to customize ESET Internet Security behavior for specific SSL certificates.

Exclude communication with trusted domains – When enabled, communication with trusted domains will be excluded from checking. Domain trustiness is determined by builtin whitelist.

Block encrypted communication utilizing the obsolete protocol SSL v2 – Communication using the earlier version of the SSL protocol will automatically be blocked.

Root certificate

Add the root certificate to known browsers – For SSL communication to work properly in your browsers/email clients, it is essential that the root certificate for ESET be added to the list of known root certificates (publishers). When enabled, ESET Internet Security will automatically add the ESET root certificate to known browsers (for example, Opera and Firefox). For browsers using the system certification store, the certificate is added automatically (for example, in Internet Explorer).

To apply the certificate to unsupported browsers, click View Certificate > Details > Copy to File... and manually import it into the browser.

Certificate validity

If the certificate cannot be verified using the TRCA certificate store – In some cases, a website certificate cannot be verified by using the Trusted Root Certification Authorities (TRCA) store. This means that the certificate is signed by someone (for example, the administrator of a web server or a small business) and considering this certificate as trusted is not always a risk. Most large businesses (for example banks) use a certificate signed by the TRCA. If Ask about certificate validity is selected (selected by default), the user will be prompted to select an action to take when encrypted communication is established. You can select Block communication that uses the certificate to always terminate encrypted connections to sites with unverified certificates.

If the certificate is invalid or corrupt – This means that the certificate expired or was incorrectly signed. In this case, we recommend that you leave Block communication that uses the certificate selected.


Illustrated examples

The following ESET Knowledgebase article may only be available in English:

Certificate notifications in ESET Windows home products

"Encrypted network traffic: Untrusted certificate" is displayed when visiting web pages