Rename computers

You can use the Rename Computers task to rename computers to FQDN format in ECA. You can use existing server task that came default with your ECA installation. If a client device name is different from the one reported in the device details, running this task can restore the proper name.

This task automatically renames synchronized computers located in the Lost & found group every hour.

To create a new Server Task, click Tasks > New > add_new_defaultServer Task or select the desired task type on the left and click New > add_new_defaultServer Task.

Basic

In the Basic section, enter basic information about the task, such as a Name and Description (optional). Click Select tags to assign tags.
In the Task drop-down menu, select the task type you want to create and configure. If you have selected a specific task type before creating a new task, Task is pre-selected based on your previous choice. Task (see the list of all Tasks) defines the settings and the behavior for the task.

You can also select from the following task trigger settings:

Run task immediately after finish - Select this option to have the task run automatically after you click Finish.

Configure trigger - Select this option to enable the Trigger section, where you can configure trigger settings.

To set the trigger later, leave the check boxes deselected.

Settings

Group name - Select a Static or Dynamic Group or create a New Static Group for the renamed computers.

Rename based on:

Computer name - Each computer is identified on the local network by its unique computer name

Computer FQDN (Fully Qualified Domain Name) - This starts with hostname and continues with domain names all the way up to top-level domain name.

Resolution of name conflicts will be performed for computers already present in ECA (computer name must be unique). Checks only apply to the names of computers outside the subtree being synchronized.

Trigger

The Trigger section contains information about the trigger(s) which would run a task. Each Server Task can have up to one trigger. Each trigger can run only one Server Task. If Configure trigger is not selected in the Basic section, a trigger is not created. A task can be created without trigger. Such a task can be run afterward manually or a trigger can be added later.

Advanced Settings - Throttling

By setting Throttling, you can set advanced rules for the created trigger. Setting throttling is optional.

Summary

All configured options are displayed here. Review the settings and click Finish if they are ok. The task is now created and ready to be used.