Factory reset

You can use Factory reset to restore your ERA Virtual Appliance to its original state as when freshly deployed. All of the configuration and settings will be reset and the whole ERA database will be dropped.

validation-status-icon-error WARNING

We highly recommend that you back up your ERA database before executing a Factory reset. Your database will be empty after performing a reset.

Factory reset will only restore settings that were changed during ERA VA configuration, other changes and settings will remain. In rare cases, factory reset will not completely restore your VA's original state. If you are experiencing issues with ERA VA, we recommend that you deploy a new machine. Follow the steps to perform a upgrade/migration or perform a disaster recovery procedure.

1.Enter management mode by typing your password and pressing Enter twice. Select Factory reset using the arrow keys and press Enter.

factory_reset

2.Press Enter to execute Factory reset of your ERA VA to the factory state or, in case you changed your mind, you can still not execute Factory reset by pressing Ctrl+C at this point. However, once the Factory reset is running, do not use Ctrl+C.

factory_reset_02

icon_details_hoverNOTE

If you see any error messages on screen during the Factory reset, try running the reset again. In case re-running the Factory reset does not help or if you are not sure, we recommend you to do a fresh deployment, you can follow the same steps as when doing an upgrade/migration or perform a disaster recovery procedure.

List of actions Factory reset performs:

resets network configuration, all passwords and a hostname

clears Webmin, appliance configuration files, packages and system logs

removes all data from ERA database

resets ERA database user password

After your ERA VA reboots, it will be in its original state as if freshly deployed and ready for you to begin configuring it from scratch.

icon_details_hoverNOTE

Custom modifications or settings not related to ERA will remain unchanged.