Static Groups

Static Groups are used to:

Organize devices and create hierarchy of groups and subgroups

Organize objects

Serve as Home Groups for users

 

Static Groups can only be created manually. Devices can be moved manually into groups. Each computer or mobile device can belong only to one Static Group.

There are two default Static Groups:

All - This is a main group for all devices in the ERA Server network. All objects created by the administrator are (by default) contained in this group. It is always displayed and cannot be renamed. Access to this group gives users access to all subgroups; therefore it should be distributed carefully.

Lost & Found - A child group of group All. Each new computer that connects to the ERA Server for the first time is automatically displayed in this group. The group can be renamed or copied, but it can't be deleted or moved.

validation-status-icon-warning IMPORTANT

A static group can be deleted only if:

The user has write permission on this group

The group is empty

If there are still some objects in the static group, the delete operation will fail. There is an Access Group filter button located in each menu (for example, Admin > Installers) with objects.

access_group Click Select to choose a static group—only objects contained in this group will then be listed in the view. With this filtered view, the user can easily manipulate objects from one group.