Merging Policies

Policies are merged one by one. When merging policies, the general rule is that the later policy always replaces the settings set by the former one. To change this behavior, you can use policy flags (available for every setting). Some settings have another rule (replace / append / prepend) you can configure.

Keep in mind that the structure of the groups (their hierarchy) and the sequence of the policies determines how the policies are merged. Merging of any two policies may have different results depending on their order.

When creating policies, you will notice that some settings have additional rules that you can configure. These rules allow you to arrange the same settings in various policies.

Replace: The default rule which is used when merging policies. It replaces the settings set by the former policy.

Append: When applying the same setting in more than one policy, you can append the settings with this rule. The setting will be placed at the end of the list that was created by merging policies.

Prepend: When applying the same setting in more than one policy, you can prepend the settings with this rule. The setting will be placed at the beginning of the list that was created by merging policies.

icon_details_hoverNOTE

In ERA version 6.4 and earlier, Replace is the default and only available rule.

In ERA version 6.5, settings which do not allow you to select one of the rules listed above have the default rule Replace.

policy_merging