When merging policies, you can change the behavior by using policy flags. Flags define how a setting will be handled by the policy.
For each setting, you can select one of the the following flags:
Not apply - Any setting with this flag is not set by policy. Because the setting is not forced, it can be changed by other policies later on.
Apply - Settings with this flag will be sent to the client. However, when merging policies, it can be overwritten by a later policy. When a policy is applied to a client computer and a particular setting has this flag, that setting is changed regardless of what was configured locally on the client. Because the setting is not forced, it can be changed by other policies later on.
Force - Settings with the Force flag have priority and cannot be overwritten by a later policy (even if the later policy has a Force flag). This assures that this setting won’t be changed by later policies during merging.
To make navigation easier, all rules are counted. The number of rules you have defined in a particular section will be displayed automatically. Also, you'll see a number next to the category names in the tree on the left. This shows a sum of rules in all its sections. This way, you'll quickly see where and how many settings/rules are defined.
You can also use the following suggestions to make policy editing easier:
•Use to set the Apply flag to all items in a current section
•Use to delete rules applied to the items in the current section