Synchronization mode - VMware

It is possible to synchronize virtual machines running on VMware vCenter Server.

Click Admin > Server Task > Static Group Synchronization > New...

icon_section Basic

Enter basic information about the task, such as the Name and Description (optional). The Task Type defines the settings and behavior of the task. Select the check box next to Run task immediately after finish to have the task run automatically after you click Finish.

icon_section Settings

Expand settings and click Select under Static group name - By default, the root for synchronized computers will be used. Alternatively you can create a new Static Group.

Object to synchronize - Either Computers and Groups, or Only Computers.

Computer creation collision handling - If the synchronization adds computers that are already members of the Static Group, you can select a conflict resolution method: Skip (synchronized computers will not be added) or Move (new computers will be moved to a subgroup).

Computer extinction handling - If a computer no longer exists, you can either Remove this computer or Skip it.

Group extinction handling - If a group no longer exists, you can either Remove this group or Skip it.

There are 3 Synchronization modes:

MS Windows Network - Enter a Workgroup to be used and the user with his credentials.

Active Directory/Open Directory/LDAP - type the basic Server connection, see synchronization mode for detailed instructions.

VMware - type the VMware vCenter Server connection, see synchronization mode for detailed instructions.

Server connection settings:

Server - Type the DNS or IP address of the VMware vCenter Server.

Login - Type the login credentials for the VMware vCenter Server.

Password - Type the password used to log onto your VMware vCenter Server.

Synchronization settings:

Structure view - select the type of structure view, Folders or Resource pool.

Structure path - click Browse and navigate to the folder you want to synchronize. If the field is left empty, the entire structure will be synchronized.

Computer view - Select whether to display computers by Name, Host Name or IP Address following synchronization.

icon_section Triggers

Select an existing trigger for this task, or create a new trigger. It is also possible to Remove or Modify a selected trigger.

icon_section Summary

Review the configuration information displayed here and if it is ok, click Finish. The task is now created and ready to be used.